Fear 3

II Timothy 1:7: “For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.”

Recently I was asked to prepare a Bible study for the group of men.. As I prayed and contemplated what to teach, I realized that a fear had overcome me…a fear of failing to touch the peoples hearts with the Word of God. A second fear was of not being accepted. As I continued to be honest with myself, I realized that this was an issue I had to address in my own life. As a result, that morning the men heard about fear.

Sometimes we keep so busy that we overlook the very things in our lives that are either bring motivation or depression. Most of you reading this blog have been taught that you need to be strong. There can be a difference between being strong and being honest with ourselves. Too often we have lived in the flesh and have forgotten that God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of love and a sound mind.

My challenge to you today is to take time to meditate on what may be keeping you from being the man or woman God wants you to be. Is it the fear of others? The fear of the unknown? Maybe the fear of failure? Realize that our sovereign God does not want you to live in fear of the situations, but rather in awe of our loving God who is in the midst of our situations.

Leave a Reply

